Book Review: Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

Ruby Red

Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier (Precious Stone Trilogy/Ruby Red Trilogy #1)

U.S. Publication date: May 10th, 2011

Translated by Anthea Bell

Disclaimer: All opinions are my honest and my own. To know how I rate my books, please go here.

Synopsis:

Gwyneth Shepherd’s sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era!

Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon–the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time, less insufferable and more essential. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon journey through time to discover who, in the 18th century and in contemporary London, they can trust.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My Review:

Ruby Red is one of those page turning books that will make you stay up pass your bed time. One of the best mind blowing, historical fiction novel I’ve read so far besides from Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard. If you’ve read Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard, then Ruby Red definitely falls under the same category with a hint of time travelling. Ruby Red has an endless pile of mysteries yet to be unraveled in the first book with an enjoyable, humorous female protagonist with a family that has full of secrets.

I went into the book without knowing anything about the story line. All I knew was that it was historical fiction and it was a time-travelling novel. I would say about 5-10% of the beginning of the plot is slow, but then the story picks up right after Gwenyth first time travels. However, I would tell you to mentally prepare yourself because there is a lot to learn about Gwenyth’s family history, time travelling, and the big secret. The time-travelling aspect of the story is the thing that reeled me into the story. It kept me turning page after page. Another aspect that I found interesting about this book was the author’s ability to switch back from the past to present without confusing the reader. I admire the author for that because it saved me time from flipping the pages back and forth.

Call me crazy, but I love when stories and movies have me deciding who’s the antagonist and who’s the protagonist. Since Gwenyth have been protected by her mother from the Guardians (a secret time travelling society) and this time travelling ordeal, she has been put into a situation where she questions  her trust with the people in the Guardians and the knowledge that they are telling her. Along the way, Gwenyth meets people from the other line of the family that has the time travelling gene and the people that work for the Guardians. However, I have a sense that Gwenyth does not trust them a 100%. It’s difficult to differentiate the antagonists from the protagonists. Overall, the book was a mind blowing, fantastic read and I just can’t wait to get my hands on the second book!

Reviewer

Ellen

Leave a Reply

