Book Review: The Geography of You and Me Jennifer E. Smith

Photo on 2-1-15 at 10.18 PM #2

Publication Date: April 15th, 2014

Disclaimer: All opinions are honest and my own. 

Synopsis:

Lucy lives on the twenty-fourth floor. Owen lives in the basement. It’s fitting, then, that they meet in the middle-stuck between two floors of a New York City apartment building, on an elevator rendered useless by a citywide blackout. After they’re rescued, Lucy and Owen spend the night wandering the darkened streets and marveling at the rare appearance of stars above Manhattan. But once the power is back, so is reality. Lucy soon moves abroad with her parents, while Owen heads out west with his father.

The brief time they spend together leaves a mark. But can they despite the odds, reunite?

Rating: 3 out 5 stars 

Spoiler alerts, do not read if you plan to read the book.

My review:

This book was good but not to my expectations, especially of Jennifer E. Smith. I fell in love with What Happy Looks Like and this book just let me down. I hated how fast the whole story went and how the plot did not stick as well. Owen and Lucy are trapped in the elevator for a brief time, and then embark a journey and then have to part so fast. It seemed rushed and I wanted to know more, it seemed to squish the emotional parts in just to keep the reader, which I felt was unfair. It left the reader any time to grieve over certain issues that arise in the book. Such as Owens mother being dead, it briefly goes into that and leaves the reader wanting to see more about the death and why it occurred and how deep it wounded Owen is shown, but barely brought up. The issues are serious and should have been addressed in a better approach. I hated how the two characters keep it so vague and I was very upset by how Lucy gets another boyfriend just to forget Owen, of course they make it the cool guy who could have any girl be with ordinary Lucy, it was so cliche. I felt this book could have used more plot and excitement to keep the reader entertained. I chose to rate this book a 3 because it was a good read but it felt so cliche and typical that I was not impressed. Especially because I love Jennifer E. Smith. Let me know how you felt if you read the book and please do read the book if you are looking for a quick sweet romance full of secrets and how the ordinary couple can make it work thousands of miles away.

Book Reviewer

Tamara

Leave a Reply

