Book Review: Scintillate by Tracy Clark

I (Ellen) shall warn you ahead of a time because this is not the usual layout that I do here for this website because this review is revived from my previous (now private blog). I mentioned in the post celebrating Tracy Clark’s book birthday for Deviate, the second book in the Light Key trilogy, that I was going to revive my review for Scintillate, the first book in the Light Key trilogy. This is just a fair warning for you guys.

scintillate

Series/Trilogy/Stand Alone
Author: Tracy Clark 
Release date: February 4th, 2014 (expected publication 
Publisher: Entangled: Teen 
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance, Magic
Format: eARC
Pages: 304 
Rating: 5 out of 5 🙂
 
 
 
Goodreads synopsis:
 
A mighty flame follows a tiny spark.

Cora Sandoval’s mother disappeared when she was five and they were living in Ireland. Since then, her dad has been more than overprotective, and Cora is beginning to chafe under his confines. But even more troubling is the colorful light she suddenly sees around people. Everyone, that is, except herself—instead, she glows a brilliant, sparkling silver.

As she realizes the danger associated with these strange auras, Cora is inexplicably drawn to Finn, a gorgeous Irish exchange student who makes her feel safe. Their attraction is instant, magnetic, and primal—but her father disapproves, and Finn’s mother orders him home to Ireland upon hearing he’s fallen in love. After a fight with her father, Cora flees to Ireland, both to follow Finn and to look for her missing mother.

There she meets another silver-haloed person and discovers the meaning of her newfound powers and their role in a conspiracy spanning centuries—one that could change mankind forever…and end her life.


Scintillate is the first book in this lush and exciting new trilogy, full of romance, adventure and metaphysical mystery.
 
A special thanks to Tracy Clark for sending me an eARC to review. All reviews are my honest opinions. I am not sponsoring nor being compensated by anyone. 
 
My Review: 
If your looking for a new fantasy series to read, this is the one to go too. It’s filled with excitement, romance, adventure, Irish lore, and did I mention a hot foreign exchange student from Ireland?
I honestly have to tell you guys that when I started to read the first ten to twenty pages, I had to put the book down because it was a bit boring for me. But then I told myself, “No Ellen, this is an ARC you have to read it and review it.” And so I read it again, from the beginning. And honestly, I don’t regret doing that because how could I when this book is soooo amazing!? I haven’t read a lot of fantasy novels and as you guys know, I am not a big fan of romance or insta-love romance but this book blew me away. This is a book I came to love for the romance, the mystery, the characters, and Ireland.
The reason why I kept continuing this book is because I want to know what happens next. Why is there a strange man following her? What is so special about Cora? Is Cora’s mom still alive? There are so many questions that keep unraveling inside my head that I had to keep reading the book.
I absolutely love all of the characters. My goodness, can we talk about Finn first please? I mean, I am just swooning all of the over guy right now.

Finn, you can have me any time you want my man. He is just so charismatic and charming and everything a girl wants. Well everything I want. He is such a gentleman. Sigh*

Finn is all of that, but he does have this side of him that we don’t know yet too.

“I’m here with you and I’m here for you. I have dramas and confusion in my life, too. But it feels better when we’re together. Don’t you feel that, luv?”

When he’s with Cora, we can see that sometimes he has conflicting emotions that we don’t entirely understand until later on in the book. Finn is an interesting character to read because he cares about Cora but has these inner conflicts too.

Then there is Cora. A fictional character I could finally relate too. Cora has been under her dad’s eyes since the day her mother disappeared.
“After my mother’s disappearing act when I was five, it seemed like he tried to love me twice as much so I wouldn’t feel the sting. It still stung. What he didn’t realize was that twice as much love was like wearing twice as many seat belts. His love was starting to feel like a five-point harness.” (page 13) 
 
Both Cora and I have strict parents (well, in Cora’s case: parent) so I could relate to her in a way because my parents don’t really let me out a lot since the think something “bad” might happen to me. And that’s the same thing with Cora’s situation, not really because in Cora’s case, someone’s out to get her because of what aura she can see.
Some other characters I would like to point out really quick are Cora’s friends: Mara and Dun. In a ‘typical’ YA story, the female protagonist might get into a little trouble and find themselves seeking the male protagonist and just kind of leave their friends hanging on the sideline. However, this is in not the case at all. I like how Cora asks her friends for help first instead of asking Finn first. Now, that is the most logical thing to do because I mean, seriously, who is dumb enough to ask for help from a stranger? I mean, if it is prominent then yes, I understand but…you guys know what I mean right? So anyways, I like how Cora doesn’t leave Mara and Dun hanging on the sideline. *minor spoiler alert* Yes, she does ask Finn to help later on but she does have her ulterior motive. And this is where my pity comes in for Finn. sigh* Poor Finnigan.
Okay, now time to the plot itself. I really found the concept of the story so intriguing and interesting because Cora is able to see these auras around people and herself too. With each individual, Cora is able to see different colors inflicting the type of emotion the person is currently feeling at the emotion. And I was like, oh my gosh, how cool is that!? Seriously, wouldn’t it be cool to see how others truly feel? However, as amazing as that sounds, it does come with a cost as well. The reason why I kept reading this book is because I want to find out the mystery behind the aura and just the revelations in this story that keeps me turning the pages.
This is yet another book in this month that has definitely taken me by surprise. I definitely recommend it to you guys. But I have to tell you guys something first: if you start reading maybe the first 20% of the book (which is not that bad) and you say to yourself, “Ugh this is just another typical YA paranormal.” Don’t give up on the story. I know I said that myself too, and you guys know how much I hate insta-love romance, but this book totally just proved me wrong. It’s not all about the romance. Okay, maybe 5-10% of the book is about Cora and Finn making out and being all lovey-dovey but then there’s also that balance in the middle that makes you want to keep reading the book. And besides, isn’t the cover gorgeous?

Look how pretty that cover is!
See even Agnes agrees!
And it comes out February 4th! The same day Cress by Marissa Meyer comes out too! 🙂 Remember to mark the date on your calendar guys!
P.S. If you guys would like to see some of the other reviews I have done on my previous blog, or no? Comment down below your suggestions on this idea.
Book Reviewer
Ellen
One Comment Add yours

  1. What i do not understood is in fact how you’re no longer really a
    lot more smartly-liked than you may be now. You’re so intelligent.

    You understand therefore significantly on the subject of this subject, made me personally
    consider it from so many various angles. Its like men and
    women are not fascinated until it is something to accomplish with Woman gaga!
    Your individual stuffs great. At all times handle it up!

Leave a Reply

