Eleanor and Park Review 

Hi guys it’s Tamara. I know it’s been awhile but here is a book review! It may contain spoilers so be cautious! 

 

Rating: 10/10

Synopsis: Set over the course of one school year in 1986, this is the story of two star-crossed misfits—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try. When Eleanor meets Park, you’ll remember your own first love—and just how hard it pulled you under.

Review :

Wow. Just crazy. This book will leave you stunned. I was apprehensive when I first saw the cover, I was like oh a love story about two kids. Then I heard all this rave about it but I just didn’t get to it till now! And trust me I regret it dearly. This book left me with a teardrop but a really warm heart. I was shocked about the truth but I realized it was right in front of me all along. So let’s begin this wonderful journey. In the beginning Eleanor and Park are meeting and Park really doesn’t want her ruining his reputation but he says meanly for her to sit by him on the bus as everyone does not allow her. She realizes he doesn’t like her and feels like a bother. But slowly they create a spark and a flame is brought between them. It’s beautiful. He an Asian comic loving need and she is a overweight red headed mystery. No one understands what they have and no one can. It’s tragic though. We find out Eleanor is being sexually assaulted by her step dad. It’s to the point her mother makes her shower before he’s ever home and her textbook is always left with remarks on how she needs her cherry popped and she’s wet and such things a father figure should never say. With Park she feels beautiful. I really enjoyed that for a young adult novel. Nowadays people are fat shaming and anything over 100 pounds is basically fat, and that’s ridiculous. This novel brings about a girl overweight but extraordinarly beautiful. I think it’s empowering and moving to see this in our current generations teen fiction and I hope we continue to show this. I loved how deep issues were put into place, not too scary or overdone but just the right touch. Rowell really has a way of writing. I suggest everyone reads this book, especially someone looking for a novel with a touching plot and moving rhythm of empowerment in ourselves. The characters have to use their strong willed hearts to create this relationship and let it flourish as we do. In the end Eleanor moves away with her Uncle but she still loves Park and Park still loves her. It’s a cute ending. And I don’t want to ruin it! So please check it out! 

Reviewer: Tamara 

( currently reading: We should hang out sometime by John Sundquist ! Look for my review on this novel next week or sooner )

Leave a Reply

