Celebrating Books 101 2 Yr Booktubeversary!

Booktuber, Miranda from BooKKss101, reaches her 2 year booktubeversary on July 3rd! Miranda’s first video was posted on July 3rd, 2013.

Ever since the first day in the booktube community, her channel has grown to almost 3,400 subscribers! That’s an amazing number!! It’s not surprising that her booktube channel has grown to a huge milestone. Her jubilant, cheerful personality has earned the subscribers button from thousands of people. Lately, she has also been filming booktube videos with her boyfriend, Pascal! And he’s also a lovely addition to her channel as well! Since it’s Miranda’s 2nd year booktubeversary, I thought we’d catch up with Miranda and ask her a fun q & a session with her!

– Hello Miranda, first of all congratulations on almost reaching 3.4k subscribers! How does that feel?
Hello Ellen,
Firstly, I would like to thank you for the opportunity to be interviewed for your website. It means a lot and I would also like to thank you for your constant support on BookTube. It feels unbelievable to be truthful. Being an Australian BookTuber, I always felt like a little bit of an outsider since a lot of people tend to follow American or English BookTubers so to know that I have close to 3.4K is an amazing thought.
-Did you ever think that could have possibly happen? What thoughts occurred in your mind when you were posting that first video of yours?
No! Once I hit 1000 subscribers I always thought my numbers would twindle and it would not go any further. I am so thankful and appreciative to everyone that has subscribed to my channel and continues to support me in every video. Having close to 4K is an absolute dream for me and I hope one day I can get to that. I remember posting my first video and feeling really nervous and edgy as I didn’t know whether people would enjoy it and how YouTube would perceive it but I am glad I took the chance.
-When did you decide to tell your friends, family, and boyfriend about your booktube channel? And what was their reaction?
Haha this is actually a funny one! Firstly before I started I remember telling my mum. My mum has always been supportive of me and what I decide to do and was actually amazed that I had the nerves to put myself on the internet like that as it is not something she would do. Back in 2013, the year in which I started , I was not yet together with Pascal and was still with my ex which was one of the first people I told about my channel. Without really knowing my partner in crime yet ( Pascal haha ) the first close friend I told was my best friend Emily which has appeared in my videos before. Emily really gave me the final push to start the channel as she knew I loved my books and thought I would be good at doing BookTube. In late 2013 I told Pascal who was then one of my best friends. Pascal has always had my back with everything and to this day is so proud of me for putting myself out there on BookTube. He loves the idea even though books are not his passion but I can say he has really taken a liking to the ‘Bookworld’. The first video he ever saw was ‘The Christmas Tree Made Out Of Books Tag’ which he shared on Facebook and around this time my other friends had started sharing my videos on Facebook. I was in my final two years of high school at the time so of course I got teased and joked about for my channel. I decided not to listen to them and kept going with my channel as I would not give up something I love due to some bullies. When all that was going on I had around 500 to 1K in subscribers now , at nearly 3.5K they have all closed their mouths . Also the fact that I have mentioned that I am known by BookTubers, authors and publishing company’s worldwide and get payed by YouTube that put them in their place.
-Why do you think people should subscribe to your booktube channel? Do you have anything in store for us in the near future?
I think people should subscribe to my channel as my channel content is always fresh and new as I try and keep up with the latest books the best that I can and create new ideas for BookTube ( RYBSAT, The Traveling Book, Book to Movie Adaptathon etc) . When I begun my channel I thought I would only do hauls, book reviews and book tags and only stick to book related videos. Last year I decided I not only wanted BookTube to see me as a BookTuber but as Miranda so I created ‘Tell My Life’ my spin off Document My Life. I also started to do generic YouTube challenges with Pascal and as of the end of last year started vlogging, which has proven successful in my ‘Nutshell’ video concept. I always try and get my subscribers involved with my channel and I love getting to know them haha…I have a wall dedicated to them with my idea ‘Decorate my Wall’ which my subscribers sent me in things which I hung on my wall. I would hope that through what I do they may get to know me as a person not only as a face on screen. I always try and talk everyone that leaves a comment on my YouTube videos and all across my social media and get to know each of my subscribers as friends.
I do have some ideas for videos in the near future. I have a few more original tags I am working on which hopefully you will enjoy. I also aim to do (apart from the usual book reviews, hauls and book related fun stuff) more rounds of RYBSAT, more live shows and definitely more #Pascanda videos with Pascal as they seem to be enjoyed.
-Alright, so we’ve got down the “generic” questions. How about some fun ones?
Bring it on!
-If you could spend a day in a fictional novel, which book would it be and which booktuber would you like to take with you and why?
I would spend the day being in The Infernal Devices. I love the 1800s and would love being a shadow hunter. A BookTuber to take… that is so hard. I would take everyone with me SERIOUSLY! I have so many BookTube friends. I think I choose the next people due to how they have really had my back the whole time I have done BookTube Latham ( Latham Neville) McKayla (book mayhem) and Filipe ( The YA Reader) . These three support me on every single video and have been real loyal to me since day one so I think we would have a great time.
-I love seeing you with your boyfriend, Pascal because you guys are just so adorable and cute together!.But, if you were allowed to switch boyfriends for 24 hours, which fictional boyfriend would you choose and why?
Haha thank you! I am actually so glad that people enjoy him on the channel. He surprises himself with how much he has come to love BookTube. Hehe… I am so sorry Pascal but a cross between Will ( The Infernal Devices) and Daniel ( Fallen). Both melted my heart and always do.
-Okay, so I’m guessing that people would want to know more about you besides from books. What are some of your passions in life besides from books?
I am one of those people that always has a camera in their hand. I love photography and making movies with my friends and editing them together. I actually really like board and card games so am a little bit of a nerd in that area. I also have a passion for animals as I have always had a pet growing up as you would probably know my two cats Louie and Sassy are my babies.
-What grade are you in? If you’re in college, what year are you and what is your major?
I am due to start university in June and I am studying Film and Television. It is something that I am passionate about and I would love a job in that field.
-Do you have any hidden talents or any special accomplishments that subscribers don’t know about you?
I can sing… joking I wish haha. Back when I was younger I used to do dancing and did that for a majority of my life and won heaps of medals and some trophies. I used to also play guitar and piano and do Tennis which I had to give up a few years back. I actually really love to cook… back in High School I won awards for it and came in the top of my class with all my final assignments.
-What do you see yourself doing 10 years from now?
10 years from now I first hope to be happy and healthy. I would love to have a steady job, my own house and of course my own book room within that house.
-Do you see yourself doing booktube for the rest of your life?
I would love to do BookTube forever. Every day my BookTube journey changes and grows. I cannot wait to see where this will take me!
Thank you once again,
Miranda 🙂

Watch Miranda’s reactions of her old videos as part of her celebrating her 1st year on the booktube community:

Don’t forget to subscribe to Miranda’s channel and follow her on her social media networks!

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/BooKss101/

Twitter: @BooKss101

Instagram: @mirandv101

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BooKss101Miranda?ref=hl

Reporter:

Ellen

Leave a Reply

