Book Review : I Was Here by Gayle Forman 

 

 Synopsis : 

 Cody and Meg were inseparable…

Until they weren’t.
 
When her best friend, Meg, drinks a bottle of industrial-strength cleaner alone in a motel room, Cody is understandably shocked and devastated. She and Meg shared everything—so how was there no warning? But when Cody travels to Meg’s college town to pack up the belongings left behind, she discovers that there’s a lot that Meg never told her. About her old roommates, the sort of people Cody never would have met in her dead-end small town in Washington. About Ben McAllister, the boy with a guitar and a sneer, and some secrets of his own. And about an encrypted computer file that Cody can’t open—until she does, and suddenly everything Cody thought she knew about her best friend’s death gets thrown into question.

Rating: 10/10!!!!!

*Not too many spoilers

Review: First off Gayle Forman is my all time favorite author. I am in love with her. I did an honest review though. It was a 10. I try to keep everything unbiased. Honestly her book was astonishing and I was surprised I gave it a 10, usually when it deals with suicide I can hardly appraise it, because writers don’t attach me when they use suicide. However, Forman did her research and knew what she was talking about. Don’t get me wrong, I am a psychology major and suicide is a topic I show interest in, but I feel it’s distasteful in how popular culture uses suicide to get readers and viewers. Forman wasn’t doing that. She brought out the core of suicide and how victims of that suicide react. Which was astounding, because so many people forget the people who have to deal with that persons suicide. They think of the person who committed the suicide, but I feel the people who have to deal with a loved ones suicide has it the worst. I loved the book. I felt like I was Cody. She is a victim of Meg’s suicide and has to cope the hardest, to the point she won’t rest and has to find the causes of Meg’s suicide. Along the way she meets Ben, who slept with Meg and Cody starts off hating him but falls in love. It sounds messed up but it’s perfectly aligned, and I was so happy to see them together. I fell in love with Ben!! Haha! All in all, I loved the book and I recommend it to anyone looking for an emotional, thought provoking read. It was a fast read and I couldn’t put it down. This is one I recommend buying for the bookshelf! 🙂 

Currently Reading: The Maze Runner

I’m going to be reading the whole series. Look for my ‘The Maze Runner’ book #1 review on Monday! 

Leave a Reply

