YA Epic Reads Blog Tour- Author Interview with Elisa Dane

Defenseless

Today, we are interviewing Elisa Dane, author of Defenseless, part of the YA Epic Reads Blog Tour.

About the Author:

IMG_5232-0

Elisa Dane is an upcoming young adult author! Dane writes young adult and adult romance. While being a writer, she is a full time mother to three all star cheerleaders, as she likes to put it. She loves to write about cheerleading and romance, so if you’re into a sporty romance, you should definitely check this author out! Her novel Ex Factor has currently been on submission! Yay!

Interview:

I had the pleasure of getting a brief interview out of her, though she is a busy mom I was grateful for what I could get!
Me:  What/who inspired you to write?

Dane: I owe my love of reading and writing to my mother. As a young girl, my mom fostered my creativity and often urged me to write short stories etc. She also fed my love of reading by providing me with lots and lots of books! Once my children became old enough to be in school all day, I was able to get back to my roots and start writing creatively again. I love it!

Me:  How would you describe your writing style?

Dane: My characters tend to be a bit snarky, and my subject matter a bit edgy and dare I say, angsty?I enjoy reading books that provide a roller coaster of emotions, and I want my own writing to provide that as well.

Me: Are there any methods you can recommend for new writers?

Dane: Write every day. Even if you’re only able to put down a couple hundred words. Even if those words are crap. Write every day. The more you write, the better you get.

Me:  Who are some of your favorite authors that inspire you?

Dane: Oh, goodness. I have a ton of favorite authors. Choosing is so hard! I definitely have to go with Colleen Hoover, and Penelope Douglas. Those ladies are extremely talented, and everything they write is pure gold. I also adore Aleatha Romig. Girlfriend writes some twisted characters!

Me: Who would you recommend your books for?

Dane: I’d say my books are good for anyone ages fifteen and up. And that’s just going by my own standards. I write about heavy subject matter, so I tend to be a bit more conservative with what I let my own teens read. I definitely think older teens and adults would appreciate my work.

Me:  Are you currently writing as of now? And if so when is the next release?

Dane: Yes! I’m working on a new three book series. The first book is tentatively scheduled to release in the spring of 2016. So excited!

Me: Lastly, if you had to create a playlist to one of your books, which songs and why?

Dane: Actually, I create a playlist for all of the books I write. Music inspires me. It drives my muse and really fuels my stories. I’ve been listening to “Fight Song” by Rachel Platten on repeat lately.I’m also really loving “Elastic Heart” by Sia. That girl has a set of pipes!

Add Defenseless to your Goodreads TBR:

goodreads

Purchase a copy of Defenseless here:

Amazon 

Elisa Dane’s Links:

Facebook/ Twitter/ Instagram (@authorelisadane)/ Youtube/ Pinterest

Reporter: Tamara

Leave a Reply

