Book Review: The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey

Infinite Sea

Synopsis: 

How do you rid the Earth of seven billion humans? Rid the humans of their humanity.

Surviving the first four waves was nearly impossible. Now Cassie Sullivan finds herself in a new world, a world in which the fundamental trust that binds us together is gone. As the 5th Wave rolls across the landscape, Cassie, Ben, and Ringer are forced to confront the Others’ ultimate goal: the extermination of the human race.

Cassie and her friends haven’t seen the depths to which the Others will sink, nor have the Others seen the heights to which humanity will rise, in the ultimate battle between life and death, hope and despair, love and hate.

Rating: 4/5

***********************************************MAJOR SPOILERS AHEAD!!!*****************************************

This review is going to pretty short. This book was definitely a step up from the first book (The 5th Wave) in terms of writing. I had a huge problem with Yancey’s writing in the first book because I thought he was trying to hard to make Cassie funny and sarcastic while also trying to tie certain storylines together. We got the same exact sentence or phrase in several point of views which was a little too convenient for me.

However, the writing got much better and I grew to like several of the characters I was sort of iffy about. Zombie (Ben) grew on me. I am always a sucker for characters who struggle with morality. Ben struggles with doing the right thing when it comes to Megan (who has a bomb inserted in her throat…if the sensor in her throat detects too much carbon dioxide then it will blow!). He almost even goes through with shooting Megan and we can really see his struggle.

Even though Yancey tries to portray Cassie as a smart girl, I really felt like having Evan there made me constantly dislike her. There were too many mushy moments for me; especially, with her having only known him for a small time. I didn’t buy their “love” and I thought she acted so childish at times that I wanted to rip my hair out.

I have no comment on Evan except that I DO NOT LIKE HIM. I get he loves Cassie and all but seriously dude, enough with the gooey eyes and love quotes!!! (What’s the point of you in the story again?)

Which brings me to Ringer. God, Ringer! I love this girl! We get more backstory on her and man did she tear at my heart. You feel so bad for her, but you can’t help but root for her. She’s strapped in a hospital for most of the book and she fights her way through it. Even when she’s so weak she can’t take a piss, that never stops her from being sarcastic and spitting in our villain’s face. I just loved the relationship between her and Razor. When she thinks about him it’s never annoying and you can’t help feel for her. There is never one moment where she does something that is un-Ringer like. Unlike Cassie who does the very thing she tells us not to do from the very beginning of book 1: don’t trust anyone. I like the development of Razor and Ringer’s relationship. She doesn’t know whether to trust him but someone she can’t help but do exactly that. I thought Razor was very shady in the beginning but even I could see his struggle between trusting what he’s been told and the cruelties he sees with his own eyes. In the end, he chooses to act with his gut and goes against everything and risks his life. I wasn’t too shocked that he was with Vosch the whole time but you could see his struggle. The sex scene was a little too fast a step in their relationship and I’m not sure if I ship her more with Ben or Razor. I really hope he’s not dead because he made a tough call. It was messed up on a whole another degree but I could understand his thought process for shooting Teacup in the head. He removed the one thing that was stopping Ringer from running. I WISH YANCEY HAD MADE RINGER THE MAIN CHARACTER!!!

THINGS THAT BLEW MY MIND IN THIS BOOK:

1. There were never any aliens!!! WTF???!!!! It’s just some program to make super soldiers!!! And Ringer and Evan are one of them.

2. Evan defied the program; which is why Vosch is so interested in him and wants to use Ringer to track him down.

3. Teacup dies (a second time?)…oh, wait…she never died the first time. First Ringer accidentally shot her then Razor shot her in the head.

4. Razor gets shot!!! What??? I was just starting to like him and Ringer seemed to genuinely like him!!! Bring him back!

5. Ben almost shoots Megan (a little kid)…but I understand the pressure on you man!

6. Evan and Cassie were annoying as always (NO SPOILER THERE)!

All in all, I’m definitely going to read book 3. I can’t wait to see what happens. This is the first time I found a second book better than the first. Hopefully, the third book is even better. After you read the last sentence of this review, GO GET THE NEXT BOOK!!!!

Peace.

Sounale

Book Reviewer

One Comment Add yours

  1. The whole repeating of phrases bothered me too! Didn’t like this one as much as the first ;p

    My Review: https://bettybookreviews.wordpress.com/2017/01/15/the-infinite-sea-review/

Leave a Reply

