Guest Blogger + Giveaway: Seekellytse on Her Thoughts of the ‘Something Strange and Deadly’ and ‘Throne of Glass’ Series

In honor of our giveaway collaboration with Kelly from seekellytse on tumblr, Ellen has caught up with Kelly to ask her thoughts about the Something Strange and Deadly series by Susan Dennard and the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J Maas. Here are her thoughts:

1) How did you discover your love of books?

Thanks for having me Ellen! 🙂 I discovered books when I was really young. Reading was something my parents always encouraged – we had no restrictions because it was the best way for us to improve our English and reading/writing comprehension. Also, I was pretty much the weird kid at school who didn’t have a lot of friends, so books were both my first friends and first loves. (And also, cable was expensive and my family couldn’t afford it, but my sisters and I could all get library cards and participate in summer reading programs and get prizes!)

2) When did you start your tumblr/twitter, and why did you start them?

I can’t remember when I started my tumblr! It was sometime back in high school (when I stopped reading because I was so swamped with school and high school drama), and at first it was just to blog about my high school experiences. Eventually I got into various television fandoms, and finally returned to my first love of books 🙂

3) How did you find out about the Something Strange and Deadly trilogy by Susan Dennard & Throne of Glass series by Sarah J Maas? I’d known about ToG and Sarah since my middle school days, when it was known as QoG on fictionpress! My second year of high school, I found out it was going to be published into an actual book I could have in my hands, I reached out to Sarah to ask for her permission to write about it for my junior year English honors class! I found out about Sooz through Sarah, because Sarah always talked about her and what an amazing person she was! I eventually decided to find out who Sooz was, and found out that everything Sarah (and everyone else) said was true! I knew Sooz first for her various articles and blog posts, and then I finally decided to give her books a try. I was initially hesitant because I wasn’t a huge fan of the undead, but I am so glad I did, because I loved the trilogy!

4) What’s the one thing you won’t regret about finding these books?

At the time I picked up Throne of Glass, I had been out of the world of literature for years. I was unhappy and frustrated and didn’t know why, and picking up ToG was basically the key that opened the doors back for me to walk through. It reminded me of how much I’d missed reading, of how I’d neglected my first friends, of how much I missed having books in my hands. Discovering how much the world of literature has changed – and how much more accessible books and authors are now! – has pretty much changed my life for the better. I’m so thankful to have been able to reach out and connect with authors, to get books signed, and to meet fellow readers and writers from all over and to bond over how much we have in common. ❤

5) If you could choose between these 3 male hotties, who would you choose: Chaol, Dorien from ToG or Daniel from SS&D? Oh man that’s a tough question! The captain of the guard, the crown prince, or the swoonworthy roguish inventor? It would be a really close tie between Chaol and Daniel, but I think Chaol would win.

6) If you had a date with the male hottie that you chose, what would you do with him? 😉 I would have him teach me how to fight and use swords! He’s the captain of the guard for a reason! He has to have awesome fighting skills! I mean, if I fought him, he’d totally kick my butt, but that means I’d also have a ton of stuff to learn and we’d have plenty of excuses to go out, right? I mean, if Chaol asked you to join him for a morning run, would you say no?! 😉

7) From a reader’s perspective, why should people read these books? I think people should read these books because they’re amazing, because the worlds draw you in and engage you and make you want to live there, and because the characters are so relatable that you want to cheer for them, cry with them, and fight for them. But I think more than anything, people need to just read. Not all readers are going to connect with every book they pick up, and that’s okay. But I think that from the moment they’re introduced to books, all children should be encouraged to find books they enjoy – comics, manga, books, tech manuals – whatever makes them happy. Reading does so much for you as a person. It’s been said that traveling makes you a better person overall, because when you see the world you are changed for the better. And books are the cheapest way to travel and to explore the world and worlds around us. Which is probably why I think readers and writers are some of the most amazing people I know. 🙂

And there you have it! We’d like to thank Kelly for taking her time to answer our questions and add her input on the Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard and the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J Maas.

Don’t forget to enter Kelly’s giveaway for a chance to win FREE books from Susan Dennard, Sarah J Maas, and Alexandra Bracken here. And, don’t forget to enter our own giveaway here because we’re giving away some book swags!

Leave a Reply

